Orzo-Minestrone Soup

c627d4eb56084dc10aeffbab426b12ee

This morning started off with a lightning and thunder storm (my favorite) and ended with a 3 hour rain shower. These are the days when I love being inside. My ideal rainy day involves me curled up on the couch with a book and blanket or in the kitchen baking, listening to Pandora all the day long (Imagine Dragons has the best station).

So with that said, you can expect that I’d like to end that ideal rainy day with a bowl of something warm.

Today’s choice was this orzo-minestrone soup and it was definitely a good choice (yay for good decisions). Because I loved it so much I’m posting it here so that maybe you can save it for your own rainy day.

Ingredients

1.5 lb of Italian Seasoned Turkey Burger
4 cups of chicken broth
1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes
1 14.5 oz can of Navy beans
1 cup of orzo noodles
1 TBS of dried Italian seasoning
2TBS of olive oil
1 small onion, thinly chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 medium carrots, thinly sliced
1 stalk celery, thinly chopped

1. Warm olive oil in a soup pot, sauteing onions and garlic until soft.

2. Add 4 cups of chicken broth, 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, 1 14.5 oz can of Navy beans, 1 cup of orzo noodles, celery, carrots and 1TBS of Italian seasoning to the pot. Bring to a boil.

3. When broth has come to a boil mold meatballs and add to the pot. Lower temperature to medium-low and cover. Cook for 15 minutes until orzo is soft and meatballs are cooked through.

Altogether the timing for making this meal only cost me half an hour of my time and it was delicious! The broth was amazing and the best part is it doesn’t require a 10 spice mixture for it to be addicting. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

 

Leave a Reply

